Now I have a YELLOW sofa!!!

So, I very kindly got given this great sofa from one of the couples in the development I live in…it’s awesome, but, I thought it could be improved…maybe a little more ‘me’?!?

20140403-222437.jpg

So…what to do…I was totally loving these sofas from Pintrest/Blogland,

20140403-222235.jpg

20140403-222249.jpg

20140403-222345.jpg

but,
A-Fabric is CRAZY expensive,
B-Do I really have time/space to upholster a sofa
C-Maybe dye could do a good enough job…inspired by this post
D-This sofa has removable, cotton covers….

So, I decided, Dye it was, much cheaper and I hadn’t cost me more than about £8!!!
I bought this dye through Amazon, I got 2 boxes cause I thought it might be too much fabric for 1 box to handle.

20140403-222800.jpg

The instructions say that 2kg of fabric requires 4 boxes, and perhaps I should have had a 3rd box, but 4 really wouldn’t have been necessary!!!

Anyway, you basically chuck it all in the washing machine, with 500g of salt and WAIT!!! This was a terrifying moment!!! Once it’s gone through once you then put it through with detergent, take it out and then put the machine on again empty to ensure it’s clean!!!

20140403-223211.jpg

But, it all came out GREAT!!! Really pleased with how it came out…

20140403-223413.jpg

I did have to iron it, (my arms nearly dropped off doing it) but I think it was worth the £8, and 4 washes in the machine!!!! What do you think???
>

2 thoughts on “Now I have a YELLOW sofa!!!

Leave a Reply

